About the CEF Library System

Our Mission

The objective of the System shall be to foster and improve public library service to the residents of the System area. 

 The list of links below contain information about our services and governance.

A Little Background Board Meeting Minutes Staff Directory
Plan of Service Board of Trustees Policies
How to Contact Us Bylaws CEFLS Services
Direct Access Plan (90.3) Central Library Plan of Service CEFLS Annual Report to New York State
Previous Direct Access Plan Annual Survey Results OverviewTrailblazer Newsletter
Pathfinder Newsletter 2017 Service Priorities 

The System accomplishes its mission  by support of local libraries and reading centers, by direct service to areas without a library or with populations which cannot easily reach a near-by library, and by service to organizations, groups, and individuals unable to use traditional library services (outreach). It also serves as a link to the global library network and provides leadership and advocacy for library and literacy issues on a regional and state level.

How to Contact Us

Office: 33 Oak Street
Plattsburgh, New York 12901-2810
Telephone: 518 563-5190
Fax: 518 563-0421
Web Site Address: www.cefls.org
Email info2@cefls.org

A Little Background

The Clinton Essex Franklin Library System is a non-profit federated library system serving 33 public libraries and reading centers in Clinton, Essex, and Franklin Counties.

The System was the first multi-county system in New York State, established in 1954 by joint resolution of the Boards of Supervisors of Clinton and Essex Counties. Franklin County joined the federation in 1962. The Library System was chartered by the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York on June 25, 1954 and is one of 23 public library systems serving the state.

Population served: 173,097 (2010)

Land area served: 4,468 square miles

Central Library:  Plattsburgh Public Library

Board of Trustees

The System is governed by a 15-member Board of Trustees. The Trustees are appointed by the County Legislatures and Board of Supervisors, five from each county. They serve 5 year terms. Board members and officers are listed below and may be reached in care of the System office.

Meetings are held at 33 Oak Street, Plattsburgh, at 4:30 p.m., unless otherwise noted.  The public is welcome to attend. 

2017 Meeting Dates:

January 23, 2017

February 27, 2017

April 24, 2017

May 22, 2017 - CANCELLED

June 26, 2017 at Ellenburg Sarah A. Munsil Free Library

July 24, 2017 at Goff-Nelson Memorial Library, Tupper Lake

August 28, 2017 at Sherman Free Library, Port Henry

September 25, 2017

October 23, 2017

November 27, 2017

Current Trustees

From Clinton County

James Bennett West Chazy 
Emily Castine Chazy
Dorothy Latta Plattsburgh
Thomas Mandeville Champlain
Doreece Purick Plattsburgh

From Essex County

Nicole Bryant     Moriah
Frances Filshie   Schroon Lake
Phyllis Magnus Saranac Lake
Scott McDonald Jay
Charles "Kip" Thompson Elizabethtown

From Franklin County

Liz DeFonce Gabriels
Gayla LePage North Bangor
Mary "Lisa" Minnich   Vermontville   
Rita Quinn Tupper Lake

Officers for 2017

President:  Nicole Bryant
Vice President: Charles "Kip" Thompson
Treasurer: Mary "Lisa" Minnich
Secretary:  Emily Castine
Member-at-Large: Rita Quinn


Do you have any comments about our website, or ideas for links or other information you would like to see included?  We'd be glad to consider your suggestions.

Please Email us at info2@cefls.org.

WWW cefls.org